BJP sweeps Leh Hill Council polls; PM hails victory

New Delhi: Minister of State (Independent Charge) of Environment, Forest and Climate Change Prakash Javadekar addresses during Stakeholder Consultation on Draft Waste Management Rules 2015, in New Delhi on Friday. PTI Photo by Kamal Kishore(PTI5_1_2015_000047B)

LEH, J&K: Dislodging Congress, BJP today swept the elections for the 26-member Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Leh, bagging 17 of the 24 seats for which results were declared.

Congress, which had 22 seats in the outgoing Council, managed only four seats this time while National Conference got two. One seat was bagged by an Independent.

The poll victory was hailed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi who expressed his gratitude to the people of the region for reposing their faith in BJP.

“Delighted at the results of Ladakh Hill Council Polls. My gratitude to people for placing their faith in BJP. Congrats to BJP Karyakartas,” he tweeted.

The party had won the Lok Sabha polls last year from Ladakh Constituency, the lone seat in the region, by dislodging Congress.

BJP candidates won from Tegar, Panamik, Tangtse, Chushul, Kungyam, Sakti, Igoo, Martselang, Thiksay, Chuchot, Upper Leh, Phyang, Sku-Markha, Saspol, Temisgam, Khaltse and Skurbuchan council seats in the elections held on October 19.

Congress has so far managed only four seats winning Lamayouru, Basgo, Lingshet and Korzok seats.

National Conference has won two seats – Lower Leh and Turtuk, while Diskit seat went to an Independent.

The results for two council seats – Hunder and Nyoma – are awaited.

90 candidates were in the fray for the elections and over 65 per cent electorate had exercised their franchise.

In the last elections held in 2010, Congress had 22 seats while BJP had 4.

The most important seat was considered to be Lower Leh from where Rigzin Spalbar of NC won. Spalber, outgoing CEC of LAHDC, had left Congress just before the polls to join NC.–PTI

0 - 0

Thank You For Your Vote!

Sorry You have Already Voted!