Grand Diwali concert by Rajasthani Association

Participants with ARA board members
rajsthani 3 web
Participants with ARA board members

CHICAGO: The Association of Rajasthanis in Chicago (ARA), organized Diwali 2017 Mahotsav on October 14 with a grand concert attended by over 400 guests including Indian Consul General Neeta Bhushan, Santosh Kumar, Director, MAFS, Prof. R. C. Chhangani of International Human Rights Law and Dr. Gopal Lalmalani, Oak Brook Mayor.

The program began with Ganesh Vandana by Stuti and Sarisha Mundada and Aarti followed by the best dressed, “The ARA Rajasthani Hero” competition for children. The children were quizzed about Diwali to encourage them to learn more about Diwali and the Indian culture.

The Association also released a special souvenir, Bandhan, to celebrate the rich heritage of Rajasthan and the success of the community in the US. The word Bandhan conveys the “bond” that members have with Rajasthan and their community in the US.

The Association honored its old time members Dr. Badri Taparia with Lifetime Achievement Award for work in supporting the association and past President Ashok Sharma for helping build the organization and growing it in its initial years. The Awards were handed out to ARA team and plaques to Katrina of Rajasthani Caravan. All honors were distributed by ARA President Ram Saini, CG Neeta Bhushan and Dr. Gopal Lalmalani, Oak Brook Mayor.

The star performance was by traditional Rajasthani dance and songs by the Rajasthani Caravan Group. The performers included Katrina, Junaid Khan and their team. In addition the artists also staged multiple items based on audience requests. The evening ended with a DJ performance by DJ Sahil.

The Masters of Ceremonies were Nikhil Fafat and Anup Sukhlecha. Messages were read from Maharaja Guj Singh of Jodhpur.

The Association also had a change in leadership with the current President passing the baton to the new President Rakesh Chaudhary. His team will be Vice President Nikhil Fafat, Neha Patodia Secretary and Anoop Sukhlecha, Treasurer. Ram Saini, Nilesh Sudrania, Anup Ruia and Dr. Badri Taparia will continue to be associated with ARA as Board of directors.
The next function will be Holi and Gangour.

Jayanti Oza

0 - 0

Thank You For Your Vote!

Sorry You have Already Voted!