Opposition MPs to march to President House to protest land bill

Rashtrapati BhavanNEW DELHI: Upping their ante against the land bill, MPs of several opposition parties are planning to take out a march to Rashtrapati Bhavan next Tuesday to register their protest against the amendments proposed to be carried out in the Act of 2013.

JD (U) chief Sharad Yadav is coordinating with other parties like Congress, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party, BSP, DMK and Left parties to organize the protest march, sources said here today.

“It is proposed to be a march of non-NDA MPs to the Rashtrapati Bhavan… Sharad Yadav is coordinating,” a source said.

Congress has expressed its willingness to participate in the march, the sources said.

The land bill was passed by the Lok Sabha three days back after the government carried out nine amendments and persuaded most of its allies to support it.

It set the stage for consideration of the bill in Rajya Sabha where the numbers are loaded against the BJP-led dispensation.

Congress, Trinamool Congress, Samajwadi Party, RJD and BJD had walked out of the House, while NDA ally Shiv Sena abstained as the Right to Fair Compensation and Transparency in Land Acquisition, Rehabilitation and Resettlement (Amendment) Bill 2015 was passed by voice vote.–PTI

0 - 0

Thank You For Your Vote!

Sorry You have Already Voted!