Sonia, Manmohan, Rahul among 40 Cong campaigners in Haryana


Sonia, Manmohan, Rahul among 40 Cong campaigners in HaryanaCHANDIGARH: Congress President Sonia Gandhi, Vice President Rahul Gandhi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will be among the 40 star campaigners of Congress who will woo voters for the 90-member Haryana Assembly elections.

Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh and his Uttarakhand counterpart Harish Rawat, Lok Sabha MP from Punjab Amarinder Singh and Haryana Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda will also canvass during the electioneering, a party spokesman said here today.

Congress is yet to announce its candidates and election manifesto.

Filing of nominations for the Assembly polls will begin tomorrow.

Meanwhile, AICC General Secretary Shakeel Ahmed, who is also incharge of political affairs of party in Haryana, held a meeting of campaign committee of the party here.
The list of 40 star campaigners was approved by the Congress President today.

The list also includes the names of Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha, Ghulam Nabi Azad, former Union Ministers Salman Khurshid, Anand Sharma, Jyotiraditya Scinidia, Jitender Singh, Sachin Pilot and former Delhi Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit.

Haryana goes to polls on October 15.–PTI