Zeliang sworn in as Nagaland CM

Zeliang sworn in as Nagaland CMKOHIMA: T R Zeliang, leader of Naga Peoples Front (NPF), was today sworn in as the chief minister of Nagaland following the resignation of Neiphio Rio, who has been elected to Lok Sabha.

Governor Ashwani Kumar administered the oath of office and secrecy to the 62-year-old first time chief minister and the 11 members of council of ministers at the Rajbhavan.

The NDF-led ruling Democratic Alliance of Nagaland (DAN-III) government was formed in March 2013. Rio demitted office yesterday after being chief minister for over 11 years following his victory in the recent Lok Sabha polls.

Zeliang inducted six new cabinet ministers and retained five. The retained ministers are Noke Wangnao, Kuzholuzo Nienu, Kiyanilie Peseyie, G Kaito and Y Patton.

He promoted parliamentary secretaries C Kipili Sangtam, Dr Benjongliba, C L John, Nuklutoshi, Niekiesalie Nicky Kire to the ministry and the deputy chairman state planning board in Rio’s government, P Longon.

Among those who have been dropped from the cabinet are Minister for Health and Family Welfare Imkong L Imchen, Minister for School Education C M Chang, Minister for Tourism E E Pangteang, Minister for Industries and Commerce S Pangyuh Phom and Minister for Youth Resources and Sports Merentoshi R Jamir.

NPF’s top leaders and senior govt officials attended the swearing-in function.–PTI

0 - 0

Thank You For Your Vote!

Sorry You have Already Voted!